Nissan Note Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a problem with the water in diesel light which comes on too often at the moment. My method of stopping it at the moment is to stop the car and switch off and restart. I have changed the fuel filter and as there are no electrical connections going to the filter I need to know where to look next under the bonnet. I have only had the car about three months and will be changing the boost control solenoid which is causing problems, when it arrives.
many thanks, Alan. The year is 2010.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
You don't mention the year of your car.
Mine is a 2009 and does not have the warning light you mention so i have no experience of this issue.
We get it occasionally on the van at work but we just ignore it and it goes away all on it's own.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Many thanks for that. I should also mention that when it does come on it does affect the acceleration. it can still be driven but really need to sort it out
Thanks, Alan.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
Have you had any fault codes read via the OBD11 connection ?
Sounds a bit odd i know but it could be something related that is causing the issue.
All i can find using google is that the fuel is contaminated at source, ie the garage.
I remember once using a local garage that was selling diesel 5p per litre cheaper than my usual garage so i filled up. Within days the red engine light came on and the car would hardly run. I had it emptied and filled with my usual brand and have had no issues since.
I really don't see how you get a warning light for this when there is no electrical connection at the fuel filter ?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·