Nissan Note Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This might seem daft to some of you, but I'm heading to the lakes soon for a couple of days and instead of taking my trusty manual Golf TDI, we're heading off in the Mrs's 1.6 auto Note.

I'm just a bit worried about how it'll deal with some of the steeper hills as it's okay on the flat but not great on power, and I have a question about selecting gears.

I know you can move from D to 2 or 1 but have never done this. Is it just a case of moving the selector? Do I have to lift off power? What speed should/can I change to 2? Don't want to *[email protected]& anything up!

Any advice/experience welcome as I'm new to auto transmissions.

Thanks

Edited by: freddieflintoff

·
Premium Member
7,177 Posts
Stick it in D and use the kick down (press the throttle all the way down) the 1.6 auto is more than capable of doing the trip you just need to learn how the auto reacts

Leave 1 and 2 allown unless your doing a 1:4 hill start, down hill let it coast and just use the brakes it seems a bit in unatural at first but you soon get use to it. Auto boxes are not designed for engine braking

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
flash22 said:
Stick it in D and use the kick down (press the throttle all the way down) the 1.6 auto is more than capable of doing the trip you just need to learn how the auto reacts

Leave 1 and 2 allown unless your doing a 1:4 hill start, down hill let it coast and just use the brakes it seems a bit in unatural at first but you soon get use to it. Auto boxes are not designed for engine braking
Will keeping it in D be okay for going up 1:4 and 1:3 without hill starts or would I need 2? If I do want 1 or 2 do I just move the lever whilst driving along?

·
Registered
4,708 Posts
Keep it in 'D'